



Tewkesbury Borough and Town Councils

Tewkesbury Borough Council is the local authority for Tewkesbury Borough and located in North Gloucestershire in the South West of England region.

The Council itself is based in the Council Offices in Tewkesbury proper, but the borough also comprises Ashchurch, Bishop's Cleeve, Brockworth, Churchdown and Winchcombe and a number of other settlements. It is administratively distinct from Tewkesbury Town Council, which serves the smaller parish of Tewkesbury only.

Tewkesbury Borough Council elects 38 Councillors from 22 wards and was formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, from the municipal borough of Tewkesbury, along with Cheltenham Rural District and part of Gloucester Rural District

Tewkesbury Town Council is a Local Council covering the Parish of Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire. It is a Successor Parish to the Tewkesbury Municipal Borough Council that existed prior to the reorganisation of English Local Government in April 1974. The Town Council in its original form was constituted by the Local Government (Successor Parishes) Order 1973.

The council in its current form as Tewkesbury Parish Council, met informally for the first time on 19 November 1973 – during which it was resolved that the Council should have the status of a Town Council from 1 April 1974 and to style the Chairman/Vice-Chairman of the Council as Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor respectively. They met formally for the first time on 17 December 1973, during which a Chairman was appointed until 1 April 1974 and it was agreed there was no objection to the use by the new Tewkesbury Borough Council of the Borough Coat of Arms. It was also agreed that the insignia for Tewkesbury which predated the coat of arms would be the new Town Council's coat of arms which are still used by the Council.

Tewkesbury Town Council began its formal role as the Parish Council for Tewkesbury in April 1974. The first chairman of Tewkesbury Parish Council was Councillor C. Burd who was also the first Town Mayor of the post 1974 Town Council.

There were a number of Miscellaneous Provisions which needed to be resolved following the formation of the new Tewkesbury Borough and the new Town Council which were intended to be resolved by a statutory instrument made in April 1977. In April 1977 the Town Council received a number of properties from Tewkesbury Borough Council including the Town Hall, Severn Ham SSSI, fishing rights, land at the Mythe Railway Nature Reserve and the lordship of the manor of Tewkesbury. Some of these properties have since been disposed of by the Town Council.

During the 1990s the relationship between the town of Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire and Tewksbury, Massachusetts was strengthened and the possibility of a formal twinning was investigated. A formal twinning arrangement between the two towns was not progressed during the 1990s although a link was maintained during this time. The relationship between these two towns resulted in the placing of

the Miko Kaufman sculpture called Touching Souls at Tewkesbury Abbey. Since January 2003 there has been a special relationship between Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire and Tewksbury Township, New Jersey.

Since the creation of the Town Council, the boundaries of the have changed most notably to cover part of the Newtown area which was formerly part of Ashchurch Parish. The M5 motorway forms part of the eastern boundary of the Town and the western side of junction 9 is within the parish. Within Tewkesbury Town are the Town Centre and the areas of Newtown, Priors Park, Mitton, Tewkesbury Park, Upper Lode, Stonehills and the Mythe. The Wheatpeices estate, Northway, and Ashchurch are not part of the Tewkesbury Town Council area but covered by their own Parish Councils.

The Town Council is based at Tewkesbury Town Hall located at 18, High Street, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire. Tewkesbury Town Hall contains the Corn Exchange, Courtroom, the cellar, the Town Hall Office, The Mayors Parlour and the Council Chamber which is a former ballroom. In the cellar of Tewkesbury Town Hall are three cells which date back the use of the building as a Courthouse. Due to the location of the Town Hall the rear of the building overlooks the Anglo-American Garden of Remembrance, the Mill Avon and the Severn Ham Site of Special Scientific Interest.

Tewkesbury Town Hall was listed as a Grade II* building on 4 March 1952 and is located within the Conservation Area covering the town centre. Since April 1977 the Town Hall, Town Hall Garden and its contents has been in the ownership of the Town Council.

At the time of the 2011 Census, the population of the Parish was 10,704 residents. This places Tewkesbury Town as the 492nd largest Parish or Community Council in the United Kingdom. The population of Tewkesbury Town is between that of Amesbury and Birchwood Parishes.

The Town Council is currently made up of sixteen councillors who serve a population of 10,704 according to the figures released from the 2011 census. The Town Councillors currently represent four wards of Mythe, Priors Park, Tewkesbury Town with Mitton and Newtown. The number of wards is due to reduce to three wards of Tewkesbury North, Tewkesbury South and Newtown at the time of the next ordinary election in May 2019.

The next elections to Tewkesbury Town Council are due to take place in May 2019. These elections will occur at the same time as the ordinary elections for Tewkesbury Borough Council.

Since 1983 Tewkesbury Town Council has given a community service award to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the lives of the Town. As of 14 May 2018 the Town Council has made this award to sixty individuals. All individuals given this award are noted on a board on the wall of the Town Hall. These awards are presented at the Annual Meeting of the Town Council which is also known as the Mayor Making Ceremony.