

North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service is the statutory fire and rescue service covering the seven districts of administrative county of North Yorkshire: Craven, Harrogate, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough, Selby; as well as the unitary authority of City of York. The service covers an area of 3,209 square miles and serves a population of 830,000. It is divided into eight groups related to the above districts.

History

Like all areas of the country, independent fire brigades developed in towns and cities across England which catered for the immediate area and were sponsored by the local authority. Examples within North Yorkshire were the Scarborough Fire Brigade, the Whitby Town Fire Brigade, and Pocklington Town Fire Brigade, which were merged in 1948 into the North Riding Fire Brigade. York had a separate professional fire brigade instituted in 1940 (under a Fire act of 1938), which was subsumed into the North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service in 1996 when the City of York Council and the North Yorkshire Fire Authority combined their efforts into one fire authority.

Fire stations and services have fluctuated with changing council and local authority areas and with cutbacks to the fire service itself. The North Riding Fire Brigade lost some of its most northern areas around Guisborough and Saltburn to the newly formed Teesside Fire service in 1968. Teesside later became Cleveland Fire Brigade. The county boundary changes of 1974 had a profound effect on North Yorkshire, as the area it covered increased from 2,116 square miles (5,480 km2) to 3,207 square miles (8,310 km2) and saw an increase in stations from 30 to 34. In the 1970s, the brigade closed Whixley fire station near Boroughbridge, and in 2013, Snainton fire station near Scarborough was closed too. Cover would be supplied from nearby Whitby and Scarborough fire stations.

In 2016, in line with other fire and police force mergers, a proposal was put forward that North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue merge with the Humberside Fire and Rescue Service.[13] However, the proposal was not backed by the leaders of county councils and emergency commissioners from the Humberside operating area, and so the merger proposal was shelved.

In 2018, the North Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner, Julia Mulligan, also took on the role of fire commissioner for North Yorkshire.[15] In October 2021, the incumbent commissioner Philip Allott resigned following comments surrounding the murder of Sarah Everard.

Stations

The service has a total of 38 fire stations. The majority of these are crewed by retained firefighters, with the minority being wholetime or day-crewed. North Yorkshire also has two fire stations which are crewed by volunteers. The breakdown of station crewing is:

Five wholetime shift fire stations Seven wholetime day-crewed stations 24 retained stations Two volunteer-crewed stations In addition to the fire stations, there are a headquarters and control room in Northallerton and a training centre in Easingwold. The fire service also shares the transport and logistics hub in Thirsk with North Yorkshire Police.

Notable incidents

- 9 July 1984 York Minster fire 150 firefighters from across North Yorkshire fought the blaze which caused over £1 million worth of damage and was believed to have been caused by lightning
- 24 May 1995 Dunkeswick air crash
- 28 December 1996 an explosion at a gas bottling plant in Aiskew near Bedale, resulted in flames shooting 100 feet (30 m) in the air and the evacuation of 200 people. A gas engineer and the fire service turned off the valves and managed to extinguish the fire. At its height, the response from the NYF&RS was 80 firefighters and 18 appliances.
- 10 August 2021 a fire at Bilsdale transmitting station involved eight pumps from across North Yorkshire