Merseyside Police



History

Liverpool City Police was the police force operating in the city of Liverpool, England, established in 1836. In 1967, the force merged with Bootle Borough Police to create the Liverpool and Bootle Constabulary.

Liverpool and Bootle Constabulary was a short-lived police force, from 1 April 1967 to 1 April 1974. It was created as a merger of the Liverpool City Police and Bootle Borough Police, and covered the adjacent county boroughs of Liverpool and Bootle. It was amalgamated under the Local Government Act 1972 with parts of the Lancashire Constabulary and Cheshire Constabulary to form Merseyside Police. Its Chief Constable for the entire duration of its existence was Sir James Haughton.

Merseyside Police is the territorial police force responsible for policing Merseyside in North West England. The service area is 647 square kilometres with a population of around 1.5 million. As of September 2017 the service has 3,484 police officers, 1,619 police staff, 253 police community support officers, 155 designated officers and 208 special constables. In terms of officer numbers, the force is the 8th largest of the 48 police forces of the United Kingdom. However, in terms of geographic area of responsibility, it is the 3rd smallest of the territorial police forces after the City of London Police and Cleveland Police.

Governance

Since 15 November 2012 the Merseyside Police and Crime Commissioner is Jane Kennedy. The police and crime commissioner is scrutinised by the Merseyside Police and Crime Panel, made up of elected councillors from the local authorities in Merseyside. Before November 2012 the Merseyside Police Authority was the police governance.

Organisation

Merseyside Police is divided into five Basic Command Units (BCUs), one in each of the metropolitan boroughs that make up Merseyside. The BCUs are:

Liverpool (following a merger of Liverpool North and Liverpool South in April 2015) Sefton

\A*!*' |

Wirral

St Helens

Knowsley

Departments

As of March 2020, there are many different departments that make up Merseyside Police.

- Matrix Disruption Team
- Anti-Social Behaviour Taskforce
- Mounted Section
- Dog Section
- Air Support Group

Vehicle

Merseyside Police has a wide fleet of vehicles. Scientific Support vehicles were usually Peugeot Expert vans equipped with a high intensity roof mounted light which allows forensic examinations to be completed in all lighting conditions. In 2007 and 2010 some of these were replaced by Ford Transit Connects meaning the Peugeot Experts are rare nowadays. Roads Policing Unit (RPU) vehicles are generally Vauxhall Vectras, Volvo V70 T5s, Volvo V70 S D5s, Land Rover Range Rovers, Ford Mondeo Estates, BMW 530ds, BMW 330ds and BMW X5s, the majority of which are mainly equipped with automatic number plate recognition (ANPR). Armed Response Vehicles (ARV) also use a wide range of vehicles, including Volvo V50 Estates, Volvo V70 Estates, BMW X5s and Mercedes Vitos which are all equipped with ANPR. As of March 2020, the response/patrol cars for Merseyside Police are Hyundai i30 & Peugeot 308 which replaced the Ford Focus.

The force also has yellow/orange liveried vans. These are mobile CCTV and patrolling vehicles and the Peugeot Expert van was generally the vehicle used, up until late 2008 where they started to be replaced by Ford Transit Connect vans. In addition, yellow Mercedes-Benz Sprinter vans are the main protected vehicles. These are used by a wide number of departments, including Matrix and the Anti-Social Behaviour task force. The Mercedes Sprinter can utilise an onboard ANPR system, a grille that drops down onto the front windscreen to help protect the officers from thrown missiles at public order incidents, fire suppression equipment within the engine bay, perspex windows, a loudspeaker facility and finally a mounted spotlight on top of the lightbar to light up scenes at night. In late 2012 Merseyside Police took delivery of three OVIK PANGOLIN Armoured Public Order Vehicles. These vehicles will be used from public order to counter terrorist operations. These vehicles are also in use with the Police Service of Northern Ireland.

Off-road vehicles used by the force include Land Rover Defenders, scrambler motorbikes and quad bikes to target anti-social behaviour in parks. Unmarked police vehicles include BMW 3 series; Peugeot 308

Uniform

As of 2017 Merseyside Police are one of the few British police forces to have retained the traditional white shirt and black tie or chequered cravat as part of the everyday patrol uniform. Officers on foot patrol wear the custodian helmet in the comb style, or bowler hat. A fluorescent overcoat is usually worn at night or when high-visibility is required, otherwise a black waterproof overcoat with reflective markings is worn. Officers travelling in vehicles wear the flat-cap or bowler and tend not to wear an overcoat. Additionally, all officers are provided with stab-vests, though on the Wirral these are not worn routinely by officers travelling in vehicles.

Officers in the specialist units wear tactical uniforms of the sort often used by everyday patrol officers in other forces, including combat trousers and black wicking polo shirts.

Head Constables

Liverpool City Police

- 1836 1844 Michael James Whitty
- 1844 1844 Henry Miller
- 1845 1852 Mathew Dowling
- 1852 1881 Captain John James Greig
- 1881 1902 William John Nott Bower
- 1902 1912 Leonard Dunning
- 1912 1925 Francis Caldwell

Chief Constables

- 1925 1931 Lionel Decimus Longcroft Everett
- 1932 1940 Archibald Wilson
- 1940 1948 Herbert Winstanley
- 1948 1958 Charles Carnegie Martin
- 1958 1964 Joseph Wright Teesdale Smith
- 1964 1965 Herbert Balmer (Acting)
- 1965 1967 Sir James Haughton

Liverpool & Bootle Constabulary

1967 - 1974 Sir James Haughton

Merseyside Police

- 1974 1975 Sir James Haughton
- 1976 1989 Sir Kenneth Gordon Oxford
- 1989 1998 Sir James Sharples
- 1998 2004 Sir Norman Bettison
- 2004 2009 Bernard Hogan-Howe
- 2009 2010 Bernard Lawson (Acting Chief Constable)
- 2010 2016 Jonathan Murphy
- 2016 Andy Cooke QPM