Perth and Kinross



A lord provost (Scottish Gaelic: Àrd-Phrobhaist) is the convenor of the local authority, the civic head and the lord-lieutenant of one of the principal cities of Scotland. The office is similar to that of a lord mayor. Only the cities of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh and Glasgow have a lord provost; other Scottish local authorities have provosts or convenors, which are similar offices to that of a mayor. Perth (as a city) previously termed its civil leader a "lord provost", but from the Second World War onwards has preferred the simple term Provost of Perth.

A lord provost has a higher status than a lord mayor in other parts of the United Kingdom. They are ex officio the lord-lieutenant for that city, in accordance with section 1 of the Lieutenancies Act 1997, which allows the city council to choose its own representative for the monarch.

The lord provosts of Edinburgh and Glasgow enjoy the style of "The Right Honourable" before their office, but not their names. Permission to use the title is granted to a city by the monarch, under the royal prerogative, acting on the advice of government ministers.

Perth and Kinross (Scots: Pairth an Kinross; Scottish Gaelic: Peairt agus Ceann Rois) is one of the 32 council areas of Scotland and a Lieutenancy Area. It borders onto the Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll and Bute, Clackmannanshire, Dundee, Fife, Highland and Stirling council areas. Perth is the administrative centre. With the exception of a large area of south-western Perthshire, the council area mostly corresponds to the historic counties of Perthshire and Kinross-shire.

Perthshire and Kinross-shire shared a joint county council from 1929 until 1975. The area formed a single local government district in 1975 within the Tayside region under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, and was then reconstituted as a unitary authority (with a minor boundary adjustment) in 1996 by the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994.

Geographically the area is split by the Highland Boundary Fault into a more mountainous northern part and a flatter southern part. The northern area is a popular tourist spot, while agriculture makes an important contribution to the southern part of the area.

The area is run by Perth and Kinross Council, and is represented by members of the Scottish National Party within both the Scottish Parliament and the Parliament of the United Kingdom.

The historical counties of Perthshire and Kinross-shire were separate entities prior to 1975. Under the terms of the 1973 Local Government (Scotland) Act Kinross-shire became part of the Tayside region, while Perthshire was split between the Tayside and Central regions. Under the terms of the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 these regions were dissolved in 1996 and the unitary authority

of Perth and Kinross was created from the areas of Perthshire and Kinross-shire which were previously part of the Tayside region.

Geography

The Highland Boundary Fault runs across the region from the northeast to the southwest. This roughly divides the area between highland Perthshire, including part of the Grampian Mountains, to the north, and lowland Perthshire and Kinross to the south. The highland area is intersected with glacial valleys, often containing ribbon lakes, including Loch Tay and Loch Earn. The lowland area is a fertile region lying within the Central Lowlands.

Economy

In the southern part of Perth and Kinross agriculture plays an important part of the local economy. This includes the cultivation of fruits, fodder, wheat and seed potatoes

The scenic nature of the northern part of Perth and Kinross makes tourism an important part of the economy. The Forestry Commission controls large parts of the area, which is also home to a number of hydroelectric dams.

Politics and Governance

Local Council

Perth and Kinross is covered by two Scottish Parliament constituencies and one electoral region.[6] Following the 2021 Scottish Parliament election these two constituencies - Perthshire South and Kinross-shire and Perthshire North - are held respectively by Jim Fairlie and John Swinney, both members of the Scottish National Party. Following the same election the electoral region - Mid Scotland and Fife - is represented by four members of the Scottish Conservatives, two members of Scottish Labour, and one member of the Scottish Greens.

UK Parliament

Perth and Kinross is covered by two United Kingdom Parliament constituencies; Perth and North Perthshire and Ochil and South Perthshire. Following the 2019 UK Parliamentary General Election these seats are respectively held by Pete Wishart and John Nicolson, both for the Scottish National Party.

Referenda

On 18 September 2014, Perth and Kinross voted strongly "No" in the Scottish Independence Referendum with a majority of 60.2% on a record turnout of 86.9%.

On 23 June 2016, Perth and Kinross voted in favour of remain in the Brexit referendum with a majority of 61.1% on a turnout of 73.7%.

City

Perth

Towns and villages Villages Crieff Abernyte **Towns** Dunkeld Abbots Aberuthven Aberfeldy Kinross Deuglie Achalader Alyth Aberargie Milnathort Acharn Auchterarder Pitlochry Abercairny Achnafauld Blairgowrie Aberdalgie Rattray Airntully Coupar Angus Scone Abernethy Almondbank

Huntingtower and Amulree **Tibbermore** Ruthvenfield Ardler Trinafour **Tullibardine** Ardoch Inchture Inchyra Waterloo Ardtalnaig Weem Invergowrie Balado Invermay Wolfhill Balbeggie Kenmore Woodside Ballinluia

BankfootKettinsPlaces of interestBirnamKilliecrankieArndean HouseBlackfordKilspindieAshintully CastleBlair AthollKingoodieAtholl Country Life

Blairingone Kinloch, Blairgowrie Museum
Braco Kinloch, Coupar Ben Lawers
Bridge of Balgie Angus Blackhall Roman

Bridge of Cally Kinloch Rannoch Camps

Bridge of Earn Kinnaird, Atholl Blair Atholl Mill Bridge of Tilt Kinnaird, Gowrie Blair Castle Burrelton Kinnesswood Cateran Trail

Campmuir Kinrossie Cairngorms National

Caputh Kirkmichael Park

Carnbo Lawers Castle Menzies
Carpow Leetown Clan Donnachaidh

Carsehall Logierait Centre

Clunie Longforgan Cluny House Collace Luncarty Gardens

Madderty Dirnanean House Comrie Meigle **Drummond Castle** Cottown Meikleour **Edradour Distillery** Craigie Forest of Atholl Crook of Devon Methven **Dalguise** Middleton Fortingall Yew Dalqueich Moneydie Glen Lyon

Dowally Monzievaird Grampian Mountains
Dull Murthly Kindrogan House
Duncrievie Muthill Lendrick Muir School

Dunning Ochtertyre Loch Earn

Errol Old Blair Loch Lomond and Fearnan Pitcairngreen the Trossachs Findo Gask Pitkeathly Wells National Park Finegand Pitmiddle Loch Rannoch Forgandenny Powmill Loch Tay

Forteviot Rait Melville Monument

Fortingall Redgorton Portmoak
Garrow Rhynd Rannoch Moor
Glencarse Rumbling Bridge Strathearn
Glenfarg Scotlandwell Whitefield Castle

Glenlomond Spittal of Glenshee

Glenshee Stanley
Grandtully St Fillans
Greenloaning St Madoes
Harrietfield Strathtay