

RNLI Torbay Lifeboats

Honorary Secretaries

Historically the person with overall responsibility for the management and operation of RNLI lifeboat stations was the Honorary Secretary. This title was replaced by the RNLI in 2002 with the title 'Lifeboat Operations Manager'.

A station was established at Brixham in 1866. The Torquay Station was established in 1876 and was closed in 1923 when a motor lifeboat was placed at Brixham. In 1924 the Brixham station was renamed Torbay.

BRIXHAM /TORBAY Station Opened in 1866

	Service Years	Honorary Secretary
1	1866 - 1891	Rev. R F Elrington
2	1891 - 1905	Alfred H Kendrick
3	1905 - 1920	Rev R N P Circutt
4	1920 - 1924	W H K Brewer
5	1924 - 1948	H M Smardon MBE
6	1948 - 1975	Fred W H Park MBE
7	1975 - 1983	Capt B J Anderson CBE, JP, ADC, DL DEVON. RN
8	1983 - 1988	Lt. Com. R H Bew JP, MNI, RN Retired
9	1988 - 1992	G Anthony Smith
10	1992 - 1993	Ron Littlewood
11	1993 - 1996	Capt Alistair Patterson RN
12	1997 - 2001	Capt Howard D East
		Lifeboat Operations Manager
13	2002 - 2004	Barrie W Foster
14	2004 - 2011	David E Ham MBE
15	2011 - 2015	Stuart L Elliman
16	2015 - >>	Nick O'Brien