

Somerset Constabulary

Somerset Constabulary was the police force responsible for policing the county of Somerset, England, between 1856 and 1967.

It was formed as a result of the County and Borough Police Act 1856 which made it compulsory for the county authorities to form a county police force which up until this point had not been done.

During its 111 year history, five smaller police forces within Somerset were merged into Somerset Constabulary. These were Wells City Police and Glastonbury Borough Police in 1856, Yeovil Borough Police in 1859, Chard Borough Police in 1889 and Bridgwater Borough Police in 1940.

Somerset Constabulary was amalgamated with Bath City Police on 1 January 1967 to become the Somerset and Bath Constabulary.

As a result of the Local Government Act 1972 this new force was short lived, lasting just 7 years when on 1 April 1974 it became part of Avon and Somerset Constabulary which polices the area to this day.

Chief Constables

Somerset Constabulary

1856 - 1884 : Valentine Goold

1884 - 1908 : Captain Charles German Allison

1908 - 1939 : Lieutenant-Colonel Herbert Charles Metcalfe

1939 - 1955 : James Edward Ryall, OBE

1955 - 1967 : Kenneth Walter Lawrence Steel

Somerset and Bath Constabulary

1967 - 1974 : Kenneth Walter Lawrence Steel

Avon and Somerset Constabulary

1974 - 1979 : Kenneth Walter Lawrence Steele

1979 - 1983 : Brian Weigh

1983 - 1989 : F R Broome

1989 - 1998 : David J Shattock

1998 - 2004 : Stephen Pilkington

2005 - 2012 : Colin Port

2012 - 2013 : Rob Beckley QPM (acting)

2013 - 2014 : Nick Gargan (suspended 2014, resigned 2015)

2014 - 2015 : John Long QPM (acting)

2015 - 2016 : Gareth Morgan (acting)

2016 - to date: Andy Marsh QPM (at March 2020)