

St Edmundsbury Borough Council

St Edmundsbury was a local government district and borough in Suffolk, England. It was named after its main town, Bury St Edmunds. The second town in the district is Haverhill. The population of the district was 111,008 at the 2011 Census.

The district was formed on 1 April 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972 (along with the abolition of the county of West Suffolk) by the merger of the Borough of Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill Urban District, Clare Rural District and Thingoe Rural District.

Until March 2009, its main offices were in Bury St Edmunds (Angel Hill and Western Way). Thereafter, a purpose-built complex, West Suffolk House housed both St Edmundsbury and Suffolk County Council staff.

In 2008, the Council submitted a proposal to the Boundary Commission which would see it as central to a new West Suffolk unitary council. However, the proposal was rejected and no unitary scheme for Suffolk was adopted.

In October 2011, St Edmundsbury Borough Council and Forest Heath District Council agreed to have one chief executive, a shared management team and a combined workforce, this resulted in a merger of St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath on 1 April 2019 to form the new West Suffolk District Council.

Freedom of the Borough

The following people and military units have received the Freedom of the Borough of St Edmundsbury.

Councillor Ronald Hartley: 1999. 3rd Air Force, USAF: 2000.

The Normandy Veterans' Association (Bury St Edmunds and District Branch No35): 2004.

1st Battalion The Royal Anglian Regiment: 2006. 3 Regiment Army Air Corps (Wattisham): 2010.



Bury St Edmunds Town Council

Following the creation of West Suffolk District Council and the merger of St Edmundsbury Borough Council and Forest Heath District Council, they lost borough status and as a result, the title of Mayor of St

Edmundsbury ceased to exist. However in July 2019, the Bury St Edmunds Town Council voted to reinstate the position of town mayor and adopt the titles of mayor and deputy mayor, which had not been used since 2007, thus providing a continuous link.

The title of Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor replaced those of council chairman and vice-chairman.



West Suffolk District Council

West Suffolk is a local government district in Suffolk, England, which was established on 1 April 2019, following the merger of the existing Forest Heath district with the Borough of St Edmundsbury. The two councils had already had a joint Chief Executive since 2011. At the 2011 census, the two districts had a combined population of 170,756.

Mildenhall Queensway

The main towns in the new district are Bury St Edmunds, Newmarket, Brandon, Haverhill and Mildenhall and covers a smaller area compared to the former administrative county of West Suffolk, which was abolished by the Local Government Act 1972.

Haverhill

Dalham

Mildenhall

The council area is divided up into 43 wards and represented by 64 councillors.

Minden

Wards

Abbeygate

Mildenhall Kingsway and Market

······································	······ao·····ai··
Moreton Hall	Newmarket
Newmarket East	Civil parishes
Newmarket North	Ampton
Newmarket West	Bardwell
Pakenham and Troston	Barnardiston
Risby	Barnham
Rougham	Barningham
Southgate	Barrow
St Olaves	Barton Mills
Stanton	Beck Row, Holywell Row and
The Fornhams and Great Barton	Kenny Hill
The Rows	Bradfield Combust with
Tollgate	Stanningfield
Westgate	Bradfield St Clare
Whepstead and Wickhambrook	Bradfield St George
Withersfield	Brockley
Communities	Cavendish
The district council area is made up	Cavenham
of 5 towns and 97 civil parishes,	Chedburgh
with the whole area being parished.	Chevington
Towns	Coney Weston
Brandon	Cowlinge
Bury St Edmunds	Culford
	Newmarket East Newmarket North Newmarket West Pakenham and Troston Risby Rougham Southgate St Olaves Stanton The Fornhams and Great Barton The Rows Tollgate Westgate Whepstead and Wickhambrook Withersfield Communities The district council area is made up of 5 towns and 97 civil parishes, with the whole area being parished. Towns Brandon

Clare

Denham Risby

Denston Rushbrooke with Rougham

Depden Santon Downham

Elveden Sapiston
Eriswell Stansfield
Euston Stanton

Exning Stoke-by-Clare
Fakenham Magna Stradishall

Flempton Thelnetham Fornham All Saints The Saxhams Fornham St Genevieve Timworth Fornham St Martin Troston Freckenham Tuddenham Gazeley West Row **Great Barton** Westley West Stow **Great Bradley Great Livermere** Whepstead

Great Thurlow Wickhambrook
Great Whelnetham Withersfield
Great Wratting Wixoe

Hargrave Wordwell
Hawkedon Worlington
Hawstead

Hengrave
Hepworth
Herringswell
Higham
Honington
Hopton
Horringer
Hundon
Icklingham
Ickworth
Ingham

Ixworth Thorpe Kedington Kentford Knettishall Lackford

Ixworth

Lakenheath Lidgate Little Bradley Little Livermere

Little Thurlow

Little Whelnetham

Little Wratting

Market Weston

Moulton Nowton Ousden Pakenham Poslingford Rede

Red Lodge